-= 7-FLOOR =-

Monday, December 21, 2009

Beauregard Ajax - Deaf Priscilla (1967-68)

Southern California's Beauregard Ajax recorded Deaf Priscilla in late 1967 and early 1968,
with legendary Del-Fi Records founder, Bob Keane producing,
but the record was shelved when the group disbanded.
Decades later a vinyl pressing was issued,
and in 2006 Shadoks Music released it on CD for the first time, with four bonus tracks.
As was the case for countless aspiring American rock collectives,
the British Invasion from a few years earlier heavily influenced the five-piece
(the singer even picked up an accent along the way), but as this was psychedelic age,
the songs are augmented with slightly fuzzed-out blues licks.
The actual tunes possess pleasing melodies, resulting in an overall light psych sound.
Lyrically, the tone is usually pretty heavy, though, with such darker subject matters as loneliness,
depression, failed relationships, and boredom.
The group shows a whimsical side on "Kaleidoscope," and the bubblegummy "Happy Brontosaurus,"
but they are at their best when embracing the melancholic aspects of day-to-day life on such numbers as
"Loneliness Is a Sometime Thing," "Goodbye Again," and "Blue Violins." One of the best and more bizarre tracks,
"Deaf Priscilla," is the mysterious tale of a horrific domestic dispute,
which the protagonist can partly ignore due to loss of one of her senses.
As a band, Beauregard Ajax is competent but largely unremarkable,
and the vocalist isn't distinctive, leaving this an interesting,
but unessential curio. As for the sonic experience, the master tape has deteriorated some,
which is often distracting (especially if listening on headphones).
As for the bonus tracks, they are useless, consisting of "alternate"
versions that hardly differ from the final mixes.

Perhaps one of the best American psych gems Shadoks ever laid their hands on.
The album was recorded in April 1968 at Western Sound Recorders L.A. for a famous surf label,
but was never released. Perhaps better than Public Nuisance and as good as Brain Police from Rockadelic,
this album is a milestone such as Cold Sun's Dark Shadow. There isn't one track that is lacking energy
(and there are 14 great ones, plus 4 bonus tracks never issued before) --
songs such as "Loneliness Is A Sometime Thing,"
"Dead Woman Blues" and "Deaf Priscilla" are outstanding highlights.
Perfect vocals, tons of fuzz guitar and tough lyrics. We will love this album forever.

(info by: CGR)

1. Loneliness Is A Sometime Thing
2. Goodbye Again
3. I Will Be Looking Away
4. Dr. Jebediah Webb
5. Is Tomorrow Thursday
6. Dead Woman Blues
7. Blue Violins
8. Things Will Work Out Fine
9. Happy Brontosaurus
10. Deaf Priscilla
11. Feather In A Bottle
12. Take You Far Away
13. Love Is A Prize
14. Kaleidoscope
15. Blue Violins - (version 2)
16. Dead Woman Blues - (version 2)
17. Goodbye Again - (version 2)
18. I Will Be Looking Away - (version 2)

Size: 84 Mb
Bitrate: 256 mp3
Artwork Included

The Sacred Mushroom - Selftitled (1969)

I was surprised by the excellence of this obscure album.
The band Sacred Mushroom hailed from Cincinnati Ohio.
This album was originally released in 1969.
The most famous member of the band is lead guitarist/song writer Larry Goshorn
who later joined country-rockers Pure Prairie League.
The music on this disk sounds nothing like country rock.
The music is instead great heavy blues from the late sixties.
Larry Goshorn's guitar work while not overly fast or flashy shines throughout the disk.
His playing on this set reminds me of Eric Clapton's playing while in the
heavy blues/psych band Cream. Larry's brother Danny handles the lead vocals on the set.
Songs like "I Don't Like You" and "Lifeline" contain great late sixties guitar playing.
The disk also contains an inspired cover of the Kink's "I'm Not Like Everybody Else" and
"Mean Old World" popularized by blues harmonica expert Little Walter.
Unfortunately this was to be the band's only release.
The approximately 34 minutes of music on this set shows great promise.
Highly recommended for collectors of sixties heavy blues/rock.

(info by: CGR)

01 - I Don't Like You - 2.53
02 - You Won't Be Sorry - 2.19
03 - Catatonic Lover - 3.03
04 - All Good Things Must Have An End - 4.41
05 - I'm Not Like Everybody Else - 4.35
06 - I Take Care - 4.59
07 - Mean Old World - 4.38
08 - Lifeline - 6.35

Size: 65 Mb
Bitrate: 256 mp3
Artwork Included

Tuesday, December 01, 2009

The Litter - Emerge (1968)

Reviewer:Lawrence A.Strid (Mission Viejo, CA)
The Litter were a garage band with an early hit called "Action Woman"
that is featured on the Nuggets box set,
a must have 4 CD set of early sixties psychedelica.
They progressed into a more hard-edged proto-metal band in the late sixties
with a style somewhat reminiscent of Blue Cheer's second album or the MC5's first live album.
Emerge reaches the apogee of their development with this release,
which features ear-shattering guitar work, great lead vocals,
and a drummer (Tom Murray, what happened to you?)
who utilizes a double-bass kit with an expertise akin to a Paul Whaley or a Ginger Baker.
His drum solo on the extended cut "Future Of The Past" is phenomenal.
If you are a fan of this kind of music you will thrive on this.
Just their cover tune of "Little Red Book" (which was penned by Burt Bacharach),
and which makes the cover by Love pale by comparison, is worth the price of this album.

(Info by: CGR)

1. Journeys
2. Feeling
3. Silly People
4. Blue Ice
5. For What It's Worth
6. Little Red Book
7. Breakfast At Gardenson's
8. Future Of The Past
9. On Our Minds

Size: 76 Mb
Bitrate: 256 mp3
Artwork Included

Sir Haakon & The Popular Musicians – What Is To Come (2004)

(No info)

01 - What Is To Come...
02 - Victoria
03 - Rain Falls
04 - 10 Naked Women
05 - Don't Disturb The Dreamer
06 - Sir Horny Humperdink
07 - Eulclie
08 - Late In The Forest
09 - In The Big Picture
10 - The Sound Of Yesterdays
11 - Dream About A Princess

Size: 64 Mb
Bitrate: 320 mp3
Artwork Included

Rory Gallagher - Live at My Fathers Place NY (1974)

01 - Tattoo'd Lady
02 - Early In The Morning
03 - Cradle Rock
04 - Just A Little Bit
05 - Walk On Hot Coals
06 - A Million Miles Away
07 - Hands Off
08 - Bullfrog Eyes
09 - Leaving Town Blues - Peter Green

(No info)

Size: 170 Mb
Bitrate: 320 mp3
Some pictures included (no covers)