-= 7-FLOOR =-

Friday, February 13, 2009

SRC - SRC and Milestones (1968-69)

Along with the Stooges, MC5, and the Amboy Dukes, SRC was a group of local heroes of the Michigan rock scene in the late '60s and early '70s, although in terms of national success, they were relegated to the second division populated by such bands as the Frost and the Rationals. Led by the Quackenbush brothers, Gary and Glenn, the Ann Arbor group evolved out of the Fugitives, adding lead singer Scott Richardson from fellow garage band the Chosen Few. SRC recorded three erratic albums for Capitol that blended Motor City crunch with sustain-laden psychedelic guitar, pompous bursts of organ, spacey lyrics, and unexpectedly wispy, vulnerable vocals, throwing in some pretty ballads and harmonies to temper the hard rock excess.

SRC's debut album contained one stand-out track, Black Sheep, on which Glen Quackenbush's organ playing gave the band a similar sound to The Doors' Light My Fire. The track received considerable airplay from John Peel in England. However, the band failed to capture the interest of the American public at large and disbanded after two further good LP's.

(Info by:CGR)

1st Album:
01. Black Sheep [Album Version]

02. Daystar
03. Exile
04. Marionette
05. Onesimpletask
06. Paragon Council
07. Refugeve
08. Interval

2nd Album:
09. No Secret Destination

10. Show Me
11. Eyes Of The Storm
12. I Remember Your Face
13. In The Hall Of The Mounta
14. Checkmate
15. Our Little Secret
16. Turn Into Love
17. Up All Night
18. Angel Song

Size: 142 Mb
Bitrate: 256 mp3
Artwork Included


Post a Comment

<< Home